Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Today I'm sharing an upcoming release. This is one book you don't want to miss! The kickstarter to this book will be available today http://www.silenceinthelibrarypublishing.com/elected-rori-shay/. You will be able to get a copy of ELECTED in hardcover and/or paperback with a free ebook, a lot of special limited-edition items and other free books. Don't wait, get your copy today!




ELECTED by Rori Shay
Silence in the Library Publishing
YA Sci-fi
April 22, 2014

Blurb: 

It's the year 2185, and in two weeks, Aloy will turn eighteen and take her father's place as president of the country. But to do so, she must masquerade as a boy to avoid violating the Eco-Accords, four treaties designed to bring the world back from the brink of environmental extinction. Aloy hopes to govern like her father, but she is inheriting a different country. The long concealed Technology Faction is stepping out of the shadows, and as turmoil grows within her country, cryptic threats also arrive from beyond the borders.

As she struggles to lead, Aloy maintains her cover by marrying a woman, meanwhile battling feelings for the boy who knows her secret - the boy who is somehow connected to her country's recent upheaval. When assassination attempts add to the turmoil, Aloy doesn't know whom to trust. She understood leadership required sacrifice. She just didn't realize the sacrifice might be her life.



Author Bio: 

Rori Shay is an author living in the Washington, DC area with her husband, daughters, black lab, and cat - just not quite in the same exciting circumstances as ELECTED’s main character, Aloy. She enjoys running, gardening, reading, doing yoga, and volunteering with the Dwelling Place non-profit.  Rori is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI).

Social Media: 


Don't forget to enter the giveaway! 

~Kindle
~Items seen in ELECTED such as a marriage binding (temporary tattoo)
~Hemlock soap
~Necklace as seen in ELECTED
~Signed paperback copy of ELECTED
~Optional FaceTime or Skype session with the author for 1/2 an hour (can be used one-on-one or at the winner's book club, etc.)



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Book Trailer Reveal: Winter in the Soul by Jennifer Novotney

Winter in the Soul by Jennifer Novotney

)




Blurb:

In a world divided by power and greed, seventeen-year-old Lilika harbors an intense desire to return to Winter in the Soul, the place her family left to escape the darkness that was manifesting from a coldness of the soul.
When she meets Talon, their connection is evident right from the start, and together they travel through the Black Kingdom to recover Lilika’s stolen locket. And in search of an answer to the mystery behind Winter in the Soul.

Lilika holds the key to stopping the darkness from spreading. The fate of their world lies in her hands. Will she stop the Black Kingdom before its darkness overtakes them all, or will they succumb to the darkness that is spreading across the land?

Release Date: July 15, 2014


Author Bio:

Jennifer Novotney was born in Burbank, California and lived in Los Angeles for most of her life until settling in North Eastern Pennsylvania with her husband and daughter. She attended California State University, earning a bachelors degree in journalism, and Northern Arizona University, earning a masters degree in English. After college, she spent several years writing and teaching, including at Pennsylvania State University.


Links:


Friday, March 7, 2014

Cover Reveal: A Long and Winding Road: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love and Chaos

Cover Reveal
A Long and Winding Road: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love and Chaos


A Long and Winding Road: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love and Chaos
by Linda Brendle
Anaiah Press
Release Date: July 1, 2014

Blurb:
Sometimes reality really bites. Alzheimer’s has wrapped Mom’s brain into knots, vascular dementia has attacked Dad, and, instead of carefree retirees, we have become caregivers. Regardless, dreams die hard, and we somehow stumbled into the purchase of a forty-foot motor home. That’s when all four of us set out on this seven-week trek across sixteen U.S. states. Now, Dad stopped-up the toilet again, Mom wet her last pair of clean jeans, and David just announced that he was hungry. My head is beginning to pound, and I know this isn’t going to be the easygoing retirement we’d imagined for ourselves.

Linda Brendle takes you on a roller-coaster ride of emotional and spiritual challenges that many families are facing right now. Co-dependency, mental breakdowns, and finding love after divorce are just a few of the issues weaved into this journey of caregiving. Whether you’re looking for an inspirational story to help teach you how to “let go and let God,” considering becoming the caregiver for one of your own parents, or are just looking for an entertaining travel book, this story is sure to strike a tender nerve.  




Author Bio:
After 15 years as a family caregiver, Linda began writing to encourage, inspire and amuse other caregivers. She loves to travel and since retiring has traveled mostly by motorcycle and RV. She and her husband live in a small East Texas town where she gardens, writes and attends church.

Yahoo Voices: http://goo.gl/NT0bdt
Red Letter Christians: http://goo.gl/xYSvRf

Links:

Friday, February 28, 2014

Cover Reveal: Princess of the Light by N.N. Light


Princess of the Light by N.N. Light
Release Date: August 26, 2014


Blurb:
Miriam Miller likes the simple things in life: a good book, close friends, and a healthy relationship with God. But, destiny comes calling, and her neat, little life turns upside down.

Ethanial, an angel of God, has been sent to reveal Miriam's true calling -– she is the Princess of the Light, the woman chosen by God Himself to vanquish the demons intent on infusing the world with evil. And her first assignment: restore the soul of a homeless man known only as The Walking Man.

Enter Joe Deacons, a man intent on stealing her heart. But as Miriam embarks on her journey to save the Walking Man and fulfill her calling, it becomes clear that Joe isn’t what he appears to be. Miriam must decide: Is she willing to risk her soul to save those she loves?

Author Bio:

N.N. Light was born in Minnesota, lived in Southern California only to move to chilly Ontario, Canada to marry her beloved husband, Mr. N. She is blissfully happy and loves all things chocolate, books, music, movies, art, sports and baking.

Website: princessofthelight.com
Blog: Princessofthelight.wordpress.com


Links:


Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Cover Reveal: One Broke Girl by Ronda Helms

Cover Reveal
One Broke Girl by Rhonda Helms




One Broke Girl by Rhonda Helms
(Edgewood Falls #1)
Publication date: April 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis:

Anna Parker’s life disintegrates with one phone call. Her dad’s selling their ritzy New York City condo because her Wall Street banker mom emptied their bank account and ran off with another man. Which means Anna has to drop out of her elite college and move with Dad back to their small Ohio hometown. Anna’s determined to reclaim her life ASAP, so she’ll use the next few months to save money, help Dad get back on his feet, and find and confront her mom.

But Anna doesn’t anticipate things going so wrong. The only job she can get is working as a lunch lady in an elementary school. Their money-pit duplex is falling apart around their feet. And her dad is depressed without her mom, who’s proving hard to find.

One bright spot in the chaos is Gavin Metcalf, a kindergarten teacher she dated when they were young teens. With his easy wit and sexy smiles, he makes her forget her stresses—and the fact that her boyfriend Steven back in New York doesn’t know the truth yet about her dire circumstances. When past and present collide, Anna has to decide where her future lies…


AUTHOR BIO:

Rhonda Helms started writing several years ago. She has a Master's degree in English and a Bachelor's degree in Creative Writing. She also edits for Carina Press (an imprint of Harlequin Publishing) and freelance edits.

When she isn't writing, she likes to do amateur photography, dig her toes into the sand, read for hours at a time, and eat scads of cheese. WAY too much cheese.

Rhonda lives in Northeast Ohio with her family.
Author links:


Friday, February 21, 2014

Cover Reveal: Winter in the Soul by Jennifer Novotney


Winter in the Soul by Jennifer Novotney
Genre: YA Fantasy
Release Date: July 15, 2014

Blurb:
In a world divided by power and greed, seventeen-year-old Lilika harbors an intense desire to return to Winter in the Soul, the place her family left to escape the darkness that was manifesting from a coldness of the soul.

When she meets Talon, their connection is evident right from the start, and together they travel through the Black Kingdom to recover Lilika’s stolen locket. And in search of an answer to the mystery behind Winter in the Soul.

Lilika holds the key to stopping the darkness from spreading. The fate of their world lies in her hands. Will she stop the Black Kingdom before its darkness overtakes them all, or will they succumb to the darkness that is spreading across the land?

Author Bio:


Jennifer Novotney was born in Burbank, California and lived in Los Angeles for most of her life until settling in North Eastern Pennsylvania with her husband and daughter. She attended California State University, earning a bachelors degree in journalism, and Northern Arizona University, earning a masters degree in English. After college, she spent several years writing and teaching, including at Pennsylvania State University.





Links:

Friday, February 14, 2014

Interview with Stacey Mosteller Author of Save Me From Myself


Today we have Stacey Mosteller Author of Save Me From Myself. I love this cover! Here is a little bit about the book, before we get to the interview, excerpts, and giveaway! 



Lyric Hayes spent the first 22 years of her life trying to be the perfect daughter and the perfect girlfriend. After a tragedy and her fiance’s betrayal, she's running. Starting over far away from the person she used to be.
She's made herself a vow - no relationships. She's trying to heal, not complicate her life further.
David Pearson has it all. Confidence, awesome friends, successful business. But, David's dealt with loss too. He knows better than anyone not to judge by what's on the surface.
Drawn to Lyric despite her inability to trust, he'll do anything to own her heart.
Will secrets and misunderstandings send Lyric running again? Or will David finally save her from herself?





Welcome to Written in Ink, Stacey! You have a New Release out right now, which we will get to very soon, tell us about your writing journey. 

Oh wow. Well, I've always been a HUGE reader, and I found Fifty Shades of Grey in spring 2012. Then, on New Years Eve my husband went to bed early, and while browsing iBooks on my phone I came across Bared to You by Sylvia Day and Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines. I devoured both books that night, and couldn't stop. I fell in love with Indie authors and went through so many books. In fact, I spent over $400 on Amazon in February alone. My husband made the comment that I was reading so much, I should write my own book. I kinda laughed it off, then I had a dream about this young girl and her brother's best friend. In September, I started writing about them, just random scenes, and her brother kept taking over. When I started writing things in his POV, I decided to stop the first story, and started writing Save Me From Myself. I ended up showing the little bit I'd written to a fellow blogger in October, and decided to do NaNoWriMo in November. I ended up finishing the book at the end of December, and published January 14th! 

I have to say that I LOVE the cover! Tell us about the characters in Save Me From Myself. Do you see yourself in any of the characters? 

The cover is amazing! Kari at Cover to Cover designs did such an amazing job at capturing my idea of Lyric! Lyric is a girl from Manhattan who has been through some really tough situations. She's had to deal with a huge loss, and then her fiance betrays her in pretty much the worst possible way. So, she runs. Wanting to start over, she moves to a completely different state where she meets David. David owns a successful bar in Nashville, and at first glance he appears to have it all together. What Lyric doesn't see at first is that David's been through his own tragedies and as a result has been raising his younger sister since she was a teenager. He's the genuine, nice guy in a book boyfriend world full of bikers, billionaires, fighters and rock stars. As far as seeing myself in them, Lyric has a lot of me. She has probably all of my worst traits. I'm very shy (which makes the fact that I wrote and published a book really strange to me), I've dealt with the cheating significant other, I tend to run away from confrontation. But, there's a lot of my sarcastic sense of humor in Anna too.

I see that this is Book 1, in the series. Can you tell us what we can expect and how long will we have to wait for more? 

It is book one. Book two picks up almost exactly where SMFM leaves off. There isn't much of a cliffhanger, because book two is about SarahBeth and the events that take place with her during SMFM. So, you'll see a lot of David, Lyric and the rest of the characters in Everything I Shouldn't which comes out May 20th. In addition, I'm writing a novella for a box set that will come out April 14th that mentions a few of the characters from Nashville Nights. It will wind up being a spin off series, most likely in 2015. Nashville Nights has 2 more books after Everything I Shouldn't - Pretending She's You (Ollivia's story) in August and Everybody But Us (Anna's story) in November. 

Tell us about your Play List. How important is having a Play List? Will you have one for each book? Does it set the tone for the book as you write?

I am a HUGE fan of music. My husband teases me frequently that I have the musical tastes of a 15 year old girl :) Each book does have a playlist, in fact, I have playlists for each character based on what I think they would listen to. It helps me get into their heads and makes writing a little easier. Music has also helped choose the titles for the books. The song that really describes the way Lyric feels is Save Me From Myself by Christina Aguilera. I listened to that song along with Empty Words and Best of Me - both by Christina when I really needed to channel Lyric. When I was trying to get into David's head and the way he feels about Lyric, it was You Don't Know Her Like I Do & Fall Into Me by Brantley Gilbert. There are so many songs that connect to books for me, and I hope people find songs for David & Lyric that do the same :)



 As you see your book being broadcast across social media sites, blogs, and bookstores, what is the advice you would give other aspiring writers? 

Don't let self-doubt stop you from writing. I struggle with that constantly! I always worry that what I'm writing isn't good enough. And now that SMFM is out, and everyone wants to know what happens with SarahBeth, I'm really feeling the pressure! David has a lot of fans, and they all want to see more of him and find out what happens next. And, one of the most important things you can do is network. I've met so many amazing people, both bloggers and authors alike, and those relationships are invaluable. Bloggers will be your biggest supporters, and they are the ones with the power to bring your book into the hands of readers. Other authors are such an amazing support system. Whether they've been where you are or they're just willing to befriend you.  

I know that you read lots of books, so what are you reading right now? 

Currently, I'm reading Incinerate by Tessa Teevan, Shattered Ties by K.A. Robinson, Of Happiness by Olivia Luck and Infinite Potential by Barbara Garren. Just please don't tell my PA - I'm supposed to be writing!

Everyone has a place they love to go and just relax. What is your favorite getaway place to unwind? 

Ideally, the beach. We go to the OBX in North Carolina every spring and rent a house close to the ocean. We usually go spring break week because it's before things really open down there so it's peaceful (and cheap!) On an ordinary day, I'm sorry to say that my "unwind" place is the bathroom! I have three boys - Stephen (15), AJ (13) and Jakob (8), and it seems like as soon as they come home, writing time is over :) Plus, the door has a lock and no one really wants to come into the bathroom! Plus, my best inspiration seems to happen in the shower where I'm not able to write down a thing LOL

There ya go! Thank you for having me :)

About the Author: 

I am a 32 year old wife and working mom to 3 boys, ages 15, 13, and 8! After spending the first half of my life in a small town outside of Philadelphia, PA, my parents moved my brother and I to another small town outside of Greensboro, NC. I moved to Hickory, NC after marrying my husband. We dated a total of three months before getting married, and we’d known each other for a total of six! People thought we were crazy, but 2014 marks our 10 year anniversary, so it obviously worked out!
I’ve always been a huge book lover, even though I hated doing book reports in school! I could never figure out the main idea, but I could quote the book word for word. Back in 2012, I found Fifty Shades, and after staying up all night one Friday to read all three books, I was hooked! I started a book blog, and kept reading everything I could. Then, I found Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines, and couldn’t stop reading. My husband told me that I should write my own book since I was spending so much on Kindle books – by June, I’d read over 500! – and after blowing him off for a few months, I decided to try to write the story I kept seeing in my head.
 I had an idea for a story about a girl who’d been raised by her brother, but when I started writing, the brother of the main female kept taking over, to the point I was writing things in his POV instead of hers, so I shelved it, and started writing Save Me From Myself instead. I finally told a few fellow book bloggers about my story, and they started encouraging me to finish it, so here we are! It’s been an absolutely insane ride, and I can’t wait to share these characters with everyone!


Connect with Stacey








Excerpt:

Sebastian enters the room, and everyone straightens up. After calling the meeting to order, his eyes focus on me. “Ah yes, everyone,” he starts, “We have a new team member. This is Lyric and she’ll be covering all the local acts.” He motions towards me, and I smile shyly at everyone. I hate being put on the spot like this. “Tell everyone a little bit about yourself Lyric.” Great, so we’re back in high school.
I stammer, “Uh, well, hi. My name is Lyric, and I just moved to Nashville from Manhattan. I graduated in December from Columbia and I’m excited to be working with you all. I can’t wait to hear Nashville’s local talent!” Thankfully, after that lackluster description, Sebastian says nothing as I sit down. Ben must be silently laughing at me because his shoulders are shaking uncontrollably. I know it’s not because he’s crying for me!
I don’t have much time to dwell on Ben’s laughter or my own less than stellar introduction, because Sebastian quickly moves on to berating everyone for last week’s articles. Apparently, he’s convinced at least half of the staff lied about their journalism or english grades because “it was all crap.”
After spending almost fifteen minutes telling us how much we suck, Sebastian finally moves on to finish the meeting handing out everyone’s assignments. Because I’m new, I have nothing to write a review on this week, so he’s sending me out with Ben to “make some contacts” because there is a big concert this Friday. Ben’s got media passes for backstage at the Kings of Leon concert, and he’s doing an interview with the band. Sebastian asks me if I even know who they are, and I frown. Ben laughs, and tells him, “If she didn’t, I’m sure she’s read Fifty Shades, so she does now.” My face starts flaming, and I can’t say anything.
Sebastian snorts out a laugh, and begins giving everyone else their assignments. When he’s done, he calls the meeting to an end, and leaves us all sitting around the conference table. Once he’s out of hearing range, I turn to Ben and hiss, “Really? Did you have to put me and Christian Grey in the same sentence?”
Ben laughs harder, “Oh please, you know you read it. And if you haven’t, girl you better get on that! I’d leave Toby in a heartbeat for a night in the RROP” I am so not having this discussion with Ben, even if we do share a love of all things fifty.
I slap him, “Oh my God, Benjamin!”
He points a finger at me, “I knew it! You did read it! You dirty slut!” This whole exchange is surreal, but after that statement, I can’t do anything but laugh. I put my head in my hands and just let it out. Ben, however, thinks I’m crying, so he starts apologizing profusely. “Shit, L, I’m sorry! I was just teasing! You’re not a dirty slut at all!” At that, I can’t help but snort, and he knows I’m not upset.
“Bitch,” he mutters, “I was really worried!”
“Sorry Ben! It was funny though,” I tell him and bump his shoulder with mine before standing to walk out of the conference room.


a Rafflecopter giveaway